The Educator forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Schools to teach students about domestic violence prevention

Notify me of new replies via email
The Educator | 24 Jul 2015, 08:08 AM Agree 0
Schools must teach students how to identify the warning signs of domestic violence so they can take action, says Adam Marshall, Member for Northern Tablelands.
  • Sandra D'Mello | 24 Jul 2015, 12:28 PM Agree 0
    I am a recently qualified graduate and am fortunate enough to teach in a girls' school in a bay side suburb in Melbourne. I have been thinking about this issue and would love to introduce the topic to our students, however I would love to know more about how to approach it in a manner that is appropriate to the primary year levels. I think that an issue like this can be structured so that it is introduced to students in varying degrees of detail. Giving them information about accessing a helpline for instance in the early years. Furthermore, I strongly believe that children, no matter how young, are very emotionally savvy.

Empowering our children to recognise the signs of domestic violence and enabling them to seek help when the abused parent is perhaps in a vulnerable position will be of enormous benefit not only to the parent involved, but to the safety of the children themselves.

As educators, we owe it to ourselves to publicise this topic nationwide.

• Freethechildren from domestic violence | 28 Oct 2015, 07:47 PM Agree 0